Denali Climb and Training

Wright and Algonquin

On Saturday we climbed Wright and Algonquin.  The drive up took a bit longer than usual due to the snow so we got a bit of a late start around 10AM.  It was around 5 degrees when we left the trailhead. I felt a bit sore from this week’s WODs but it was manageable.  It took just over an hour and a half to get to the Wright/Algonquin junction.

From there we decided to climb Wright first.  Once up above treeline on Wright it was VERY icy.  I didn’t have much of a problem with my crampons but Vicki’s microspikes didnt grip as well so we had to move quite slowly.  Once at the summit it was quite cloudy but we snapped a few pictures and headed down to the junction.  We decided to skip Iroquois at this point due to the time. It’s not advisable to be above treeline this time of year after dark.

After a short break at the junction and a snack we headed up Algonquin.  The trail up Algonquin was great and very packed down so we didn’t need snowshoes at all. We suited up once at the treeline in goretex and down to maintain our warmth. By this point the sun had come out but it was still pretty cold and windy.

All suited up on Algonquin's summit

On our way to the summit we stopped to recreate a picture similar to one I had taken last year while attending the ADK Winter School 2011 where on Algonquin we found someone had written Nepal 2011 in the snow on the side of a small cliff.

January 2011 on Algonquin

For my Denali climb I put Denali 12 and we snapped a few pictures.

January 2012 on Algonquin

From there we went on to the summit and spent some time and took some pictures.  We were both quite warm and thankful for the extra layers.  After spending some time we headed down.

The hike out went quickly and we both felt pretty good.  We were pushing it on the daylight in the last mile or so but being as stubborn as I am I decided to race the daylight and refused to put on my headlamp, thinking of the Seinfeld driving on an empty gas tank episode the entire time.  We made it the whole way out without using the headlamps but had to turn one on to sign out at the register.  Once back it the car the temperature read all of 4 degrees. I didn’t even realize it was that cold at that point, I think I’m starting to get numb to the cold at this point.  Hopefully that’ll carry with me on Denali in May because I have a feeling I’m going to need all the help with the cold I can get there.

Sunday will be a rest day and I’ll be back to CCP for the 5:45AM Wod on Monday.  This week I’ll be getting my gear/food ready for ADKs 2012 Winter School Advanced Section that I will be attending from Saturday to Thursday.  I’ll be doing quite a bit of packing and organizing trying to figure out the best mix of gear to bring not to mention my food. I’m hoping to be able to keep everything paleo during this trip but I have a bit of planning to do in order to accomplish that.

Saturday 1/21:

Breakfast

  • 6 Eggs cooked in 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 6 Slices Bacon
  • 3 Cups of Spinach
  • 1 Cup Blueberries
  • 1 Orange

Lunch/Snacks throughout the day

  • Laura Bars
  • Large Bag of trailmix
  • Pemican Bar

Post Hike:

Dinner

  • Eggs cooked in 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 6 Slices Bacon
  • 3 Cups of Spinach

Hydration for the day consumed about 7 liters of water

Sunday 1/22:

Breakfast

  • 6 Eggs cooked in 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 6 Slices Bacon
  • 3 Cups of Spinach
  • 1 Cup Blueberries
  • 2 Oranges

Lunch/Snacks throughout the day

  • Large Bag of trailmix

Dinner

  • Maximus protein shake
  • Handful macadamia nuts
  • 1 tbs of SO3 Super Omega-3 Oil

Hydration for the day consumed about 4 liters of water

Leave a Reply

