Denali Climb and Training

Ice Climbing weekend in New Hampshire

It was so cold I had to climb in my Feathered Friends Icefall jacket

After a loooong 7 hour drive out to New Hampshire though the wonderful state of Vermont which apparently does not have snowplows or at least believe in using them, I spent the weekend with a group of friends taking a 2 day course in various ice climbing techniques.  I’d never ice climbed before and I’m hooked and cant wait to go again!  Of course we picked the coldest weekend of the winter so far and I don’t think we ever made it out of single digit temperatures all weekend.  It was -17 F when we started on Sunday morning, awesome training for Denali on what works and doesn’t work in temperatures like that.

I was able to climb without further injury to my back and felt great all weekend. I’m really glad I took the week off to recover.   My diet suffered a bit this weekend in the fact that I wasn’t able to eat enough food.  I kept it all 100% paleo but it’s quite difficult to get that much food in you when it hurts to even take your mittens off!  I’m going to have to work even harder to figure out some cold weather friendly foods in order to eat enough when I’m out there doing these kinds of things especially on my upcoming 5 day overnight in the Adirondacks.

Friday 1/13:

Breakfast

  •  6 Eggs cooked in 1 tbs coconut oil
  •  6 Slices Bacon
  •  3 Cups of Spinach
  •  1 Orange
  •  1 Cup Blueberries
  •  1 tbs of SO3 Super Omega-3 Oil

Lunch

  • Salad with, Tomatoes, Carrots, Cranberries, avocado, Walnuts, 4 Chicken Sausages, Olive Oil & Balsamic Vinegar

Snack

  • Laura Bar
  • Handful  macadamia nuts
  • Chicken Jerky

Dinner

  • 8 Chicken breakfast sausages
  • Broccoli in olive oil
  • Asparagus in olive oil

Hydration for the day consumed about 6 liters of water

Saturday 1/14:

Breakfast

  • 6 Eggs cooked in 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 6 Slices Bacon
  • 3 Cups of Spinach
  • 1 Orange

Lunch/Snacks throughout the day

  • 2 Laura Bars
  • Large Bag of trailmix
  • Pemican Bar
  • Chicken Jerky

Dinner

  • Prime Rib
  • Broccoli in olive oil

Hydration for the day consumed about 4 liters of water

Sunday 1/14:

Breakfast

  • 6 Eggs cooked in 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 6 Slices Bacon
  • 3 Cups of Spinach
  • 1 Orange

Lunch/Snacks/Dinner throughout the day

  •  Laura Bar
  •  Large Bag of trailmix
  •  Pemican Bar

Dinner

  • Maximus protein shake
  • Handful macadamia nuts
  • 1 tbs of SO3 Super Omega-3 Oil

Hydration for the day consumed about 5 liters of water

Leave a Reply

